Sunday, October 2, 2022
63.1 F

    Latest Posts

    Akufo-Addo Leads Retreat For Newly Sworn-in Ministers

    Flashback: the ministers and dignitaries at the swearing-in ceremony


    President Nana Akufo-Addo is leading a two-day retreat for his newly appointed Ministers, African Entertainment can confirm.

    The retreat which is to pave way for the new Ministers to assume office on Tuesday, March 9, 2021, is being held at the Peduase Presidential Lodge.

    African Entertainment is informed that the retreat started today, Sunday, March 7, and will end on Monday, March 8, 2021.

    As the ministers assume office on Tuesday, March 9, 2021, President Akufo-Addo will also be in Parliament presenting the State of the Nation Address (SONA).

    As earlier reported by African Entertainment, Mr Akufo-Addo, on Friday, March 5, 2021, administered the oath of office, secrecy and allegiance to 28 out of the total number of 30 ministerial appointees.

    Finance Minister designate, Ken Ofori-Atta who is out of Ghana on medical grounds and yet to be vetted, was not present at the swearing-in ceremony.

    Also, the Minister for Chieftaincy and Religious Affairs, Ebenezer Kojo Kum who had gone through vetting and have been approved, was  not present on grounds of ill health.

    The 28  including the Ministers for National Security- Albert Kan Dapaah, Trade and Industry – Alan John Kwadwo Kyerematen, Defence – Dominic Nitiwul, Interior – Ambrose Dery, Foreign Affairs and Regional Integration – Shirley Ayorkor Botchwey, Minster of Justice and Attorney General – Godfred Yeboah Dame, Local Government, Decentralization and Rural Development – Daniel Botwe, Parliamentary Affairs – Osei Kyei Mensa Bonsu, Communications and Digitalisation – Ursula Owusu-Ekuful, Food and Agriculture – Dr Owusu Afriyie Akoto, Energy – Dr. Matthew Opoku Prempeh and Education – Dr. Yaw Osei Adu Twum were sworn in at the Jubilee House, the seat of Government in Ghana.

    The rest were the Ministers for Health – Kwaku Agyeman-Manu, Works and Housing – Francis Kwame Asenso-Boakye, Lands and Natural Resources – Samuel Abdulai Jinapo, Roads and Highways – Kwasi Amoako-Atta, Transport – Kwaku Ofori Asiamah, Fisheries and Aquaculture Development – Mavis Hawa Koomson, Railway Development – John Peter Amewu, Sanitation and Water Resources – Cecilia Dapaah, Tourism, Arts and Culture – Mohammed Awal, Gender, Children and Social Protection – Sarah Adwoa Safo, Environment, Science, Technology
    and Innovation – Dr. Kwaku Afriyie, Employment and Labour Relations – Ignatius Baffour Awuah, Information – Kojo Oppong Nkrumah, Youth and Sports – Mustapha Ussif, Public Enterprises – Joseph Cudjoe and  Minister State at the Ministry of Works and Housing -Freda Prempeh were all sworn in.
    Moments after swearing them inPresident Akufo-Addo charged Ministers in his second term administration to work harder to improve the living standards of the citizenry.

    Do you have a story, video for African entertainment? WhatsApp Us on +233543452542

    You can also email us at [email protected]

    Source link

    Latest Posts


    Don't Miss