Saturday, September 24, 2022
69.2 F

    Latest Posts

    Cameroon to hold Afcon draw

    File photo: the Algerian desert Foxes celebrating their Afcon win in Egypt in 2019


    The draw for the delayed 2021 Africa Cup of Nations (Afcon) is expected to be held on Tuesday, August 17, 2021.

    The draw will be held in Yaounde, the capital of Cameroon.

    In 2022, the Afcon will run from 9 January to 6 February in Cameroon.

    In the upcoming campaign, Comoros and The Gambia, will be making their debut at the Africa Cup of Nations finals.


    The reigning champions of Africa, Algeria is expected to be among the six top seeds for Tuesday’s draw.

    The draw will feature all 24 teams – including the hosts Cameroon.

    All 24 nations will be divided into six groups with the winners and runners-up in each pool, plus the best four third-placed teams, advancing to the knockout phase.

    This year, the seeding was determined by the August Fifa rankings with Senegal top of the list followed by Tunisia, Algeria, Morocco, Nigeria, Egypt, Ghana, Cameroon, Ivory Coast and Mali completing the top 10.

    Africa Cup of Nations draw seeding

    Pot 1: Cameroon, Algeria, Senegal, Tunisia, Morocco, Nigeria
    Pot 2: Egypt, Ghana, Ivory Coast, Mali, Burkina Faso, Guinea
    Pot 3: Cape Verde, Gabon, Mauritania, Sierra Leone, Zimbabwe, Guinea-Bissau
    Pot 4: Malawi, Sudan, Equatorial Guinea, Comoros, Ethiopia, The Gambia


    Source link

    Latest Posts


    Don't Miss