Journalists win Nobel Peace Prize


Maria Ressa and Dmitry Muratov


Two journalists have won this year’s Nobel Peace Prize. 

Maria Ressa and Dmitry Muratov won the Prize for their “courageous fight” to defend freedom of expression in the Philippines and Russia.

The Nobel Peace Prize committee described the two journalists “representatives of all journalists who stand up for this ideal”.

The prestigious Nobel Peace Prize is worth 10m Swedish krona (£836,000; $1.1m).

The two journalists were announced as winners at the Norwegian Nobel Institute in Oslo. The two were chosen out of 329 candidates.

Ms Ressa co-founded the news site Rappler. She was lauded for using freedom of expression to “expose abuse of power, use of violence and growing authoritarianism in her native country, the Philippines”.

According to the Committee, Mr Muratov, who co-founded the independent newspaper Novaja Gazeta, had for decades defended freedom of speech in Russia under increasingly challenging conditions.

The Committee says the prize is intended to honour an individual or organisation that has “done the most or the best work for fraternity between nations”.

In 2020, the winner of the Nobel Peace Prize was the United Nations World Food Programme (WFP), which was awarded for its efforts to combat hunger and improve conditions for peace.

Source link


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here